1st Trip

1st Trip
/ Baroque Bordello
(Qbico [Italy]/ LP/ 2002)


  1. I’m God
  2. Die A Martyr
  3. Branded As Fool
  4. Envoy From The Darkness



  1. P-C2TG32-3KR32
  2. Electric Shock


Baroque Bordello :

  • Kawabata Makoto : pygmy guitar, can bass, harpshtube, keyboard, voice
  • Kawagishi Tetsushi : pygmy guitar, can bass, harpshtube, percussion, voice, electric guitar on B-2
  • Iwaki Yasuo : percussion, harpshtube, synthesizer, voice


Recorded at R.E.P. studio and Horyuji Sound House, 1979
Produced & engineered by Kawabata Makoto
Art work by Qbico


Originally issued on cassette on the R.E.P. (Revolutionary Extrication Project) label in the 80’s in very limited quantities, then re-issued on a 10 CD-R box set entitled “Makoto Kawabata early works 1978-1981”

“Our first release after changing the name of the band from the Dark Revolutionary Collective to Baroque Bordello. With our concept of restoring the independence that music possesses in and of itself, we began composing and playing in an improvised idiom that refused to be tied to any pre-existing style. As the synthesizer was still the only instrument that we owned, we were forced to build the other instruments ourselves. The A-side of the tape was made up of performances on these homemade instruments (which remind me of Joe Jones Music Machines-Qbico). The B-side was an electronic soundtrack for aerobics, incorporating some doubtless Pink Floyd-inspired sound effects. There was also a piece for guitar and cable noise. Both sides sounded very weird” – Makoto Kawabata

Share on Facebook

Comments are closed.